Skip to main content

For the past six months the AMIA Diversity Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee and subcommittees have been working to define the programs and initiatives for AMIA’s DEI efforts. More than 75 AMIA members volunteered to participate in the subcommittee work.

The DEI Committee is led by Chair Tiffani J. Bright, PhD, FACMI; and Co-Chairs Oliver Bear Don’t Walk IV, PhD, and Robert J. Lucero, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN.

To help inform AMIA’s efforts to build a more inclusive and diverse AMIA, the five DEI Subcommittees created the AMIA 2022 DEI Membership Survey.

The DEI leadership is seeking your help to collect baseline data from members and former members of AMIA.


Members and non-members are invited to contribute.

The survey is closed

Results from the AMIA 2022 DEI Membership Survey will be presented at the AMIA 2022 Annual Symposium. Each subcommittee is working on projects for AMIA that will be launched this Fall.

AMIA DEI Subcommittees


External outreach to marginalized or historically excluded groups to build awareness of AMIA and the informatics profession.

  • Co-chairs: Terika McCall, PhD, MPH, MBA and Kim Unertl, PhD, FACMI
Retention and Advancement

Internally focused on growing a diverse set of AMIA leaders.

  • Co-chairs: Arlene Chung, MD, MHA, MMCi, FAMIA and Julio Facelli, PhD, FACMI

Promote diverse informatics voices, research, and activities through AMIA communications channels and advocate for more inclusive research in informatics journals

  • Co-chairs: Rebecca Rivers, PhD, MPH, CPH and Hu Huang, PhD, ACHIP
Education, Governance, and Policy

Build DEI practices into AMIA’s structure; contribute to policy responses; support DEI member education activities.

  • Co-chairs: Anthony Solomonides, DPhil, MMath, MSc. and Juan Espinoza, MD, FAAP
Advancement of Health Equity and Antiracism in Healthcare

Position AMIA to become a thought leader in addressing these topics at the intersection with informatics; serve as an organizational convener for education, research, and policy.

  • Co-chairs: Catherine Craven, PhD, MA, MLS, FAMIA; Kevin Wiley, Jr., PhD, and Robert J. Lucero, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN


DEI Survey Findings
Monday, November 7
12:15 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Join the DEI Committee leaders for a short presentation on preliminary findings of early survey data at the AMIA 2022 Annual Symposium.


DEI Committee

Prof. Robert J. Lucero, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN
University of California, Los Angeles


DEI Committee

Oliver Bear Don’t Walk IV, PhD
University of Washington


Rubina Rizvi, MD, PhD
University of Minnesota


Board Liaison

William Brown III, PhD, DrPH, MA 
University of California San Francisco