Skip to main content

In January 2018, the AMIA Board approved a resolution to launch an Applied Informatics Recognition Program, to recognize members who apply informatics skills and knowledge within their professional setting, who have demonstrated professional achievement and leadership, and who have a sustained commitment to the betterment of AMIA.

The resulting Fellows of AMIA, or FAMIA, was established in May 2018, following several months of deliberation by an interdisciplinary Advisory Group of AMIA members to define the FAMIA Eligibility Criteria.

These deliberations reaffirmed that FAMIA be inclusive – balancing the needs of physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and others working within clinical informatics settings, with the needs of professionals working in public health, clinical research, and other areas where informatics is applied to practice.

2021 Application Period is Closed

Please review FAMIA Eligibility Criteria and FAMIA FAQs to prepare for the 2022 Application (date to be announced). For information, contact Michelle Martin at or 301-657-5915.

FAMIA candidates will need to submit applications indicating how they have met the following Eligibility core areas:

  1. Education
  2. Certification
  3. Applied Informatics Experience
  4. Peer Recommendation
  5. AMIA Membership
  6. AMIA Engagement
  7. Future Commitments

Important Dates for 2021

  • July 19, 2021: Application deadline
  • August 2, 2021: Recommender deadline
  • September, 2021: FAMIA notifications
  • FAMIA Class of 2022 Induction: Clinical Informatics Conference (CIC), location and date to be announced.