FAMIA: A Recognition Program for Applied Informatics

In January 2018, the AMIA Board approved a resolution to launch an Applied Informatics Recognition Program, to recognize members who apply informatics skills and knowledge within their professional setting, who have demonstrated professional achievement and leadership, and who have a sustained commitment to the betterment of AMIA.

The resulting Fellows of AMIA, or FAMIA, was established in May 2018, following several months of deliberation by an interdisciplinary Advisory Group of AMIA members to define the FAMIA Eligibility Criteria

These deliberations reaffirmed that FAMIA be inclusive – balancing the needs of physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and others working within clinical informatics settings, with the needs of professionals working in public health, clinical research, and other areas where informatics is applied to practice.

The 2020 FAMIA Application period has closed. The FAMIA Class of 2021 will be announced by September 30, 2020. The 2021 Application period will open in Spring of 2021. If you are interested in FAMIA please review FAMIA Eligibility Criteria and FAMIA FAQs. Questions? Contact Michelle Martin at

FAMIA candidates will need to submit applications indicating how they have met the following Eligibility core areas:

  1. Education
  2. Certification
  3. Applied Informatics Experience
  4. Peer Recommendation
  5. AMIA Membership
  6. AMIA Engagement
  7. Future Commitments