Skip to main content

The Nominating Committee announces the slate of candidates for board of directors’ positions.

The AMIA bylaws determine the process and timeline for our elections and we conduct our elections electronically. The online voting site will open by September 7, 2022 and will contain full biographical information submitted by each nominee. An e-mail will be sent to all eligible members announcing the opening of the election site and will include detailed instructions on how to vote.

Petition to Add Nominees

According to Article 6 of the AMIA bylaws, AMIA’s voting members may add nominees to this slate by petition. Petitions must include the name of the nominee, the office for which he or she is being nominated, signatures or letters from fifty (50) regular members in good standing endorsing the nomination, and a letter from the nominee indicating his or her agreement to serve if elected. Please send the original signed documents (petition or letters) to AMIA HQ postmarked by August 31. Address: AMIA, c/o Petition to Add Nominees, 143 Rollins Avenue # 2248 Rockville, MD 20847 or send them to Nina Richards.

If you have questions about the process, please contact Nina Richards, Director of Governance.

Election Results

Official election results will be announced during the State of the Association Meeting held in conjunction with the AMIA 2022 Annual Symposium on November 8. The Nominating Committee thanks you for your thoughtful consideration of these and other possible nominees.

Board Chair-Elect

The Board Chair-Elect is an officer of AMIA and serves in that role for 1 year. The Board Chair is the principal officer of AMIA and the serves in that role for 2 years. Both positions require nominees to be a member of AMIA in good standing who has demonstrated commitment, active service and leadership, is committed to furthering AMIA’s mission and vision, and will have served previously as a member of the AMIA Board of Directors. Term of office for Chair-Elect is January 1, 2023 through December 31, 2023. Term of office for Board Chair is January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2025.


Term of office for chair-elect is January 1, 2023, through December 31, 2023, followed by a 2024-2025 term as board chair.

One chair-elect will be elected:

  • Paul Fu
  • Genevieve Melton-Meaux

Board Director

The Board of Directors is the principal policy making body of AMIA and is responsible for AMIA’s strategic plan. A successful board member is supportive of AMIA’s mission and speaks knowledgeably about AMIA and informatics. S/he is an active and visible member of AMIA and the informatics community. The Board is accountable to AMIA’s members. Directors serve a three-year term and may be elected to serve two consecutive terms. Term of office for four Directors is January 1, 2023 through December 31, 2025.


Term of office for four directors is January 1, 2023, through December 31, 2025.

Four directors will be elected:

  • Gregory Alexander
  • Jake Chen
  • Sabrina Hseuh
  • Shauna Overgaard
  • Deepti Pandita
  • Paulina Sockolow
  • Vicky Tiase
  • Li Zhou

Working Group Elections

Some AMIA Working Groups will also be electing new leadership and those elections will be held in conjunction with this year’s Board of Directors election. Each working group is currently putting together its slate of candidates. If you are eligible to vote in working group elections, you will see the ballot(s) upon logging into the election site.