Skip to main content

Dr. William (Bill) Stead has led the nation in thinking about how biomedical informatics methods and architectures can improve health care systems for decades. His ideas coupled with his leadership have been significant at the local and the national level. He was the first editor of the Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association (JAMIA), a role that he held for ten years. The AMIA Stead Award for Thought Leadership in Informatics acknowledges people who have influenced our thinking about informatics, especially improving health and health care in ways that are visionary and transformative. The criteria are:

  • Awarded to an individual at any stage of a career for a strategic contribution to thinking about applying biomedical and health informatics to transform health, health care or health care organizations.
  • The awardee is attributed with substantially changing thinking or direction in at least one area regarding how informatics can improve health or health care organizations at the local or national level.
  • Demonstrated commitment to AMIA through membership.
  • The awardee's ideas have been adopted by others beyond the potential recipient’s home organization.
  • It is assumed that this award may not be given annually, but only when we can clearly identify the change in the field's direction attributable to research or writing of an individual.

The glass sculpture award colors represent Duke University blue, Vanderbilt University gold and AMIA crimson. We thank our founding donors for their generous contributions - Jeffrey A. Balser, David Bates, James Cimino, Don E. Detmer, Mark Frisse, Cynthia Gadd, John Glaser, Robert A. Greenes, Nunzia and Dario Giuse, W.E. Hammond, Betsy L. Humphreys, Kevin B. Johnson, Nancy Lorenzi, Alexa McCray, Blackford Middleton, Randolph Miller, Judy G. Ozbolt and Larry Kingsland, C. Wright Pinson, Edward Shultz, Peter Tarczy-Hornoch, and Stuart T. Weinberg.

Past Winners


Vimla L. Patel, PhD, FACMI


Alexa McCray, PhD, FACMI


Lucila Ohno-Machado, MBA, MD, PhD, FACMI


George Hripcsak, MD


Daniel R. Masys, MD, FCMI


Isaac S. Kohane, MD, PhD




John Glaser, PhD


William W. Stead, MD