Skip to main content
Informatics leaders recognized for accomplishments in practice and research, health policy, nursing informatics, visionary and transformative thought leadership, and significant scholarly contribution.

WASHINGTON, DC – The American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) is proud to announce the 2023 Signature Awards recipients. The awardees will be acknowledged at the AMIA 2023 Annual Symposium, Nov. 11-15, in New Orleans.  

AMIA's Annual Symposium presents leading-edge scientific research on biomedical and health informatics, showcasing more than 600 scientific sessions. The Symposium is the largest informatics event worldwide. The work presented spans the spectrum of the informatics field: translational bioinformatics, clinical research informatics, clinical informatics, consumer health informatics and public health informatics.

The AMIA Signature Awards program provides an opportunity for AMIA members at different stages of their careers—early, established and lifetime—to be recognized for significant contributions to the field of informatics.

“I am delighted to recognize and honor these outstanding informatics leaders and their accomplishments” said Gretchen Purcell Jackson, MD, PhD, FACS, FACMI, FAMIA, AMIA Board Chair and President, Vice President and Scientific Medical Officer, Intuitive Surgical, and Associate Professor of Surgery, Pediatrics, and Biomedical Informatics, Vanderbilt University Medical Center.  

The awards celebrate demonstrated excellence in using informatics to transform health and healthcare delivery. The exceptional work and achievements deserve the spotlight, and we congratulate our colleagues on their successes.”  

The Signature Awards will be presented on Sunday, November 12 at the Opening Session. 

AMIA 2023 Signature Awards

Donald A.B. Lindberg Award for Innovation in Informatics

Noémie Elhadad, PhD
Associate Professor and Chair of Biomedical Informatics
Columbia University

Don Eugene Detmer Award for Health Policy Contributions in Informatics

UTHealth Health Science Center at Houston

William W. Stead Award for Thought Leadership in Informatics

Atul Butte, MD, PhD, FACMI
Director, Bakar Computational Health Sciences Institute, and Distinguished Professor
University of California, San Francisco

Virginia K. Saba Informatics Award

Susan Newbold, PhD, RN-BC, FAAN, FHIMSS, FAMIA
Nursing Informatics Boot Camp

AMIA New Investigator Award

Yifan Peng, PhD
Assistant Professor of Department of Population Health Sciences
Weill Cornell Medicine

AMIA 2023 Edward H. Shortliffe Doctoral Dissertation Award Winners

Drs. Boguslav and Ostropolets will present a semi-plenary talk on their dissertation work at AMIA 2023 Annual Symposium on Monday, November 13, 2023.

First Prize ($7,500)
Honorable Mention ($2,500)


AMIA, the leading professional association for informatics professionals, is the center of action for 5,600 informatics professionals from more than 65 countries. As the voice of the nation’s top biomedical and health informatics professionals, AMIA and its members play a leading role in assessing the effect of health innovations on health policy and advancing the field of informatics. AMIA actively supports five domains in informatics: translational bioinformatics, clinical research informatics, clinical informatics, consumer health informatics, and public health informatics.