Skip to main content
Informatics leaders recognized for accomplishments in practice and research, health policy, nursing informatics, visionary and transformative thought leadership, and significant scholarly contribution.

ROCKVILLE, MD – The American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) is proud to announce the 2022 Signature Award and Leadership Award recipients. The leaders will be presented with their awards at the AMIA 2022 Annual Symposium, Nov. 5-9, in Washington, D.C.

AMIA’s Annual Symposium is the largest informatics event worldwide. The Symposium presents leading-edge scientific research on biomedical and health informatics, and more than 150 scientific sessions. The work presented spans the spectrum of the informatics field: translational bioinformatics, clinical research informatics, clinical informatics, consumer health informatics and public health informatics.

The AMIA Signature Awards program provides an opportunity for AMIA members at different stages of their careers to be recognized for significant contributions to the field of informatics.

“It is my honor and privilege to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of these informatics leaders,” said Gretchen Purcell Jackson, MD, PhD, FACS, FACMI, FAMIA, AMIA Board Chair and President, Vice President and Scientific Medical Officer, Intuitive Surgical and Associate Professor of Surgery, Pediatrics, and Biomedical Informatics, Vanderbilt University Medical Center. “These exceptional professionals in our field have demonstrated excellence in using informatics to transform health and healthcare. We applaud their tremendous achievements.”  

AMIA Signature Awards

Donald A.B. Lindberg Award for Innovation in Informatics

  • Hongfang Liu, PhD, FACMI
    Mayo Clinic

Don Eugene Detmer Award for Health Policy Contributions in Informatics

  • Andrew Gettinger, MD
    Dartmouth Medical School

William W. Stead Award for Thought Leadership in Informatics

  • William Hersh, MD, FACMI
    Oregon Health & Science University

Virginia K. Saba Informatics Award

  • Patricia Hinton Walker, PhD, RN, FAAN, MCC
    Coaching Stepping Stones & USU

New Investigator Award

  • Licong Cui, PhD
    The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

AMIA Leadership Awards

For their commendable volunteer effort in creating significant additions to AMIA’s educational digital content, including the Health Informatics Essentials and AMIA Health Informatics Certification Review Course.

  • Deborah Ariosto PhD, RN-BC, FAMIA
  • Zach Burningham, PhD, MPH
  • Jane M. Carrington PhD, RN, FAAN, FAMIA
  • Amar Das MD, PhD, FACMI, FAMIA
  • Lynda R. Hardy PhD, RN, FAAN
  • Saif Khairat, PhD, MPH, FAMIA
  • Harm J. Scherpbier MD, MS, FAMIA

The awards will be presented on Nov. 6, at the AMIA Awards and LEAD Gala. Proceeds support the AMIA Leadership and Education Award Donation (LEAD) Fund.

AMIA, the leading professional association for informatics professionals, is the center of action for 5,500 informatics professionals from more than 65 countries. As the voice of the nation’s top biomedical and health informatics professionals, AMIA and its members play a leading role in assessing the effect of health innovations on health policy and advancing the field of informatics. AMIA actively supports five domains in informatics: translational bioinformatics, clinical research informatics, clinical informatics, consumer health informatics, and public health informatics.