Skip to main content

Informatics leaders recognized for accomplishments in practice and research, health policy, nursing informatics, visionary and transformative thought leadership, and significant scholarly contribution.

The American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) is proud to announce the 2019 Signature Award and Leadership Award recipients. The leaders will receive their awards at the AMIA 2019 Annual Symposium, taking place Nov. 16 – 20, in Washington, D.C.

AMIA’s Annual Symposium is the largest informatics event worldwide, drawing more than 2,500 attendees. The Symposium presents leading-edge scientific research on biomedical and health informatics, and more than 120 scientific sessions. The work presented spans the spectrum of the informatics field: translational bioinformatics, clinical research informatics, clinical informatics, consumer health informatics and public health informatics.

The AMIA Signature Awards program provides an opportunity for AMIA members at different stages of their careers to be recognized for significant contributions to the field of informatics.

“It is my honor and privilege to recognize the significant contributions of these informatics leaders,” said Peter J. Embi, MD, MS, FACP, FACMI, FAMIA, AMIA Board Chair, and President and CEO, Regenstrief Institute, Inc.  “AMIA is a multidisciplinary and diverse organization, and these awardees exemplify the best of our membership as they advance AMIA’s mission in all of the work they do. We celebrate their exceptional accomplishments." 

AMIA Signature Awards

Donald A.B. Lindberg Award for Innovation in Informatics
Shawn N. Murphy, MD, PhD, FACMI
Director, PHS Research Information Systems and Computing, Massachusetts General Hospital

Don Eugene Detmer Award for Health Policy Contributions in Informatics
Carolyn Petersen, MS, MBI, FAMIA
Assistant Professor, Mayo Clinic

William W. Stead Award for Thought Leadership in Informatics
Lucila Ohno-Machado, MBA, MD, PhD, FACMI
Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Informatics, University of California San Diego

Virginia K. Saba Informatics Award
Susan Matney, PhD, RNC-OB, FAAN, FACMI
Medical/Nurse Informaticist, Intermountain Healthcare

New Investigator Award
Joanna Abraham, PhD
Assistant Professor, Institute of Informatics, Washington University in St. Louis

AMIA Leadership Awards

Carolyn Petersen, MS, MBI, FAMIA
For leadership in advancing AMIA’s work in ethical, legal and social issues, including leading updates to AMIA’s Code of Professional Ethical Conduct.

Neil Sarkar, PhD, FACMI
For leadership in launching AMIA’s first gold open access publication, JAMIA Open, as we celebrate the journal’s first anniversary.

Joseph Kannry, MD
For leadership of AMIA’s public policy efforts as Chair of the Public Policy Committee, contributor to nearly a dozen response teams, and serving as a member of the 2019 AMIA Health Informatics Policy Forum Steering Committee.

The awards will be presented on Sunday, Nov. 17, at the AMIA Awards Gala. Proceeds support the AMIA Leadership and Education Award Donation (LEAD) Fund.