Skip to main content

Informatics leaders recognized for accomplishments in practice and research, health policy, nursing informatics, visionary and transformative thought leadership, and significant scholarly contribution.

The American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) is proud to announce the 2018 Signature Award and Leadership Award recipients. The leaders will receive their awards at the AMIA 2018 Annual Symposium, taking place Nov. 3 – 7, in San Francisco.

The symposium draws more than 2,500 attendees. This year garnered more than 700 submissions. The AMIA Signature Awards program provides an opportunity for AMIA members at different stages of their careers to be recognized for significant contributions to the field of informatics.

“It is my honor and privilege to recognize the outstanding contributions of these leaders in the field of informatics,” said Peter J. Embi, MD, MS, FACP, FACMI, AMIA Board Chair, and President and CEO, Regenstrief Institute. “AMIA continues to thrive and evolve as is evident by these leaders. We celebrate their exceptional accomplishments and commitment to AMIA’s mission."  

AMIA Signature Awards

Donald A.B. Lindberg Award for Innovation in Informatics
J. Marc Overhage, MD, PhD
Chief Medical Informatics Officer, Cerner Corporation

Don Eugene Detmer Award for Health Policy Contribution in Informatics
Julia Adler-Milstein, PhD
Associate Professor and Director, UCSF School of Medicine

William W. Stead Award for Thought Leadership in Informatics
George Hripcsak, MD
Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Informatics, Columbia University

Virginia K. Saba Informatics Award
Bonnie Westra, PhD, RN
Associate Professor, University of Minnesota School of Nursing

New Investigator Award
Jeremy Warner, MD
Assistant Professor, Vanderbilt University

AMIA Leadership Awards

Sarah A. Collins, PhD, RN
For leadership in developing and championing AMIA’s applied informatics recognition program (FAMIA).

Jeffrey A. Nielson, MD, MS, FACEP
For leadership in developing and championing AMIA’s applied informatics recognition program (FAMIA).

Lucila Ohno-Machado, MBA, MD, PhD
For steadfast leadership of JAMIA as editor-in-chief (2011-2018) and decades of commitment and service to AMIA.

The awards will be presented on Sunday, Nov. 4, at the AMIA Awards Gala. Proceeds support the AMIA Leadership and Education Award Donation (LEAD) Fund.


AMIA, the leading professional association for informatics professionals, is the center of action for 5,500 informatics professionals from more than 65 countries. As the voice of the nation’s top biomedical and health informatics professionals, AMIA and its members play a leading role in assessing the effect of health innovations on health policy and advancing the field of informatics. AMIA actively supports five domains in informatics: translational bioinformatics, clinical research informatics, clinical informatics, consumer health informatics, and public health informatics.