Skip to main content
Public Biography
- ACMI Fellow 2010 - Inaugural IAHSI Fellow 2017 - Dean, College of Medical Science and Technology, TMU - Distinguished Professor, Dept Biomedical Informatics - Chief Dermatologist, Dept Dermatology, TMU-Wanfang Medical Center

Historic ACMI Biography

Profile image
Dr. Li received his MD degree from the University of Taipei in Taiwan, and a PhD in Medical Informatics from the University of Utah. He returned to his homeland where he became the founding Director of the Graduate Institute of Medical Informatics at Taipei Medical University, and Director of the Institute for Biomedical Informatics at National Yang Ming University. At the time of his election as an International Fellow of the College he was Professor of Biomedical Informatics and university Vice President at Taipei Medical University. Dr. Li has been a strong proponent and innovator in the creation of interoperable electronic health records, and his development of a national health information exchange for Taiwan led to his receiving a National Health Contribution Award which is Taiwanís highest honor for contributions to the nationís health. He has also been an advocate for the use of ësmart cardsí and patient-specific clinical decision support to improve patient safety. Dr. Li served as President of the Asia Pacific Association for Medical Informatics, and associate editor of the Journal of Computer Methods and Programs in Biomedicine, as well as participating on the editorial boards of several other international biomedical informatics journals. His election as an International Fellow of the College recognizes these scholarly innovations and professional service that have had an international scope of influence.


The American College of Medical Informatics

ACMI is a college of elected Fellows from the U.S. and abroad who have made significant and sustained contributions to the field of medical informatics. It is the central body for a community of scholars and practitioners who are committed to advancing the informatics field.

Year Elected
Learn more about this group