Skip to main content

AMIA 2021 Virtual Informatics Summit - Town Hall

Turn Right Here: A Journey through the Pathways of AMIA – Q & A Session for Students

Tuesday, March 23 | 3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. ET

AMIA is a community and the professional home for more than 5,000 informaticians. AMIA membership is your path to connect and collaborate with others in the profession, to learn the latest approaches being used to advance healthcare, to grow your professional skills with volunteer opportunities, and to lead the future generation of informatics professionals. As part of the 2020-2025 strategic plan and our goal of empowering our members to advance the field and drive impact, we want to improve our communications with and to members, establish clear pathways to leadership development and prepare and mentor leaders to build strong communities and nurture strong relationships between members.

Please join us for a special session designed especially for students to hear about a few journeys to AMIA leadership directly from some of our leaders. Interactivity is a must in this session as we want to take all your questions about AMIA and the future. Not a student? You were ONCE so come join the journey. Please submit your questions ahead of time to Scott McGrath at


Patricia C. Dykes, PhD, RN, FAAN, FACMI
Board Chair
Gretchen Purcell Jackson, MD, PhD, FACS, FACMI, FAMIA


Mary Regina Boland, MA, MPhil, PhD, FAMIA
Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Assistant Professor
Adela Grando, PhD, MCS
College of Health Solutions, Arizona State University
Associate Professor
Hope Gray, MTS, BCC
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Graduate Research Assistant
Saif Khairat, PhD, MPH, FAMIA
School of Nursing, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Assistant Professor
Scott McGrath, PhD
AMIA Student Working Group Chair
Providence Health and Services

Chat Facilitators 

Josette Jones, PhD
School of Informatics and Computing, IUPUI
Director and Associate Professor
Li Zhou, MD, PhD
Harvard Medical School/Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Associate Professor
Title Sponsor